The Sunshine Coast Arts Council oversees a number of Annual Awards, funded through generous donations made to various endowments managed by the Sunshine Coast Foundation. Recipients are selected by a committee, based on community recommendations.

Below are our 2022/23 recipients.

The Gillian Lowndes Memorial Award: Nadina Tandy

The Gillian Lowndes Memorial Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated long-standing achievement, innovation, and recent growth in their artistic discipline. The award was created in 1981 to honour the life and talent of Gillian Lowndes, a promising young Sunshine Coast dancer and vice-president of the Arts Council. Gillian died of cancer in 1981. This year’s recipient is Nadina Tandy, a visual artist living in Gibsons, BC whose breakout 2017 exhibition “Exquisite Corpse” with the late Donna Balma has expanded her work locally and internationally to include solo exhibitions, innovative public art installations, book cover commissions, and a curatorial residency at ART PAWN CO/LATERAL in New York City this past June.

Frances Wasserlein Community Leadership in Arts & Culture Award: Pat and Murray Drope

The Frances Wasserlein Community Leadership Award recognizes significant contributions as a volunteer in the arts and culture sector, in memory of a passionate advocate for inclusive communities through arts and culture. This year the award goes to a couple, Pat and Murray Drope of Gibsons, BC. The Dropes have been key volunteers at the Gibsons Public Art Gallery for 20 years, and were instrumental in transforming it from a former bank into a modern gallery and retail space.

Louise Baril Memorial Music Award: Cassidy Wieler

The Louise Baril Memorial Music Award is given to an individual beginning advanced studies in music, and honours Louise Baril, a revered member of the SCAC Board who ran Countryside Concerts from 1990-94. This year’s awardee is Cassidy Wieler, a violinist from Gibsons BC. Cassidy has been playing violin since the age of 5, and now plays with the local symphony orchestra as well as groups in Vancouver and on the Coast. She has won multiple awards at the Sunshine Coast Festival of Performing Arts.

The Anne and Philip Klein Visual Arts Award: Betty Ackroyd

The Anne and Philip Klein Visual Arts Award recognizes an individual who began their creative endeavours later in life. This year the award has been given to Betty Ackroyd, a ceramicist from Roberts Creek, BC. Betty began her practice just a few years ago when she retired, and her works are sought after at local markets and the Gibsons Public Art Gallery. She is also an active arts and culture volunteer locally.