Each year $300 is awarded to a Sunshine Coast artist who began their creative endeavours later in life. The Klein Award was created in 2000 to honour the memory of Anne and Philip Klein and to encourage artists to continue their artistic passion late in life.

After active careers, the Kleins became art students in retirement: she as a spinner and weaver, and he as a sculptor. Their work garnered numerous awards, and after they settled in Roberts Creek, Anne Klein became a member of the Arts Council. The Award is financed by donations from the Klein family, friends and others who approve of the kind of encouragement it offers.

Recipients are selected by an Advisory Committee made up of local arts and culture community members and SCAC Board members.


If you would like to support building this endowment, please follow the link below to donate and make sure to specify the Award you are supporting

Past Winners


Awarded to: Betty Ackroyd

Photo of Betty Ackroyd


Awarded to: Eleanor  Mae


Awarded to: Marylin Marshall


a6Awarded to: Eugenia Stephenson and presented by Michael Klein (son of Anne & Philip Klein)



Awarded to: Yvonne Stowell


Award to: Jan Williams and presented by Michael Klein (son of Anne & Philip Klein)

Jan Williams

Michael Klein, son of Anne and Philip Klein was on hand to hand out the award created in his parent’s memory, intended to be awarded to an individual who discovers a new artistic passion later in life. This year’s Klein award went to artist turned writer, Jan Williams.