The awards are made possible by grants from funds held at the Community Foundation

Louise Baril Memorial Music Award

a8Awarded to: Hanna Crudele (accepted by Hanna’s step-father, Geoff Davis) and presented by nominator, Carolyn Mitchell.

Honours the memory of Louise Baril, a revered member of the Arts Council Board and Program Director of Countryside Concerts from 1990 through to 1994, as well as an active participant in the Sunshine Coast music scene. Louise died in November of 1994. The award is for musicians undertaking advanced studies.

The Louise Baril Memorial Music Award is for Sunshine Coast music students in the amount of $300. The Musician selected to receive this award must: be undertaking advanced studies, submit an outline with the artist’s past accomplishments, proposed course of study, and other relevant information; submit at least one letter of reference from a current or prospective music teacher.

Frances Wasserlein Community Leadership in Arts & Culture Award (New!)


Awarded to: Linda Williams and presented by nominator, Cindy Riach

Frances Wasserlein was a courageous, feminist activist advocating for women and LGBTQ rights and change. She was passionate about building inclusive communities through many forms of art and culture. She was a member of the Sechelt Public Library Board and Executive Director of the Sunshine Coast Arts Council. Frances passed away in August of 2015. This award was lovingly initiated by Frances’ Book Club to celebrate her inspirational life and diverse accomplishments and recognizes community members who have made significant leadership contributions as a volunteer that have enhanced arts and/or cultural events on the Sunshine Coast.

The Frances Wasserlein Community Leadership in Arts and Culture Award is in the amount of $250. Candidates must be a Sunshine Coast resident, have exhibited exemplary, sustained, leadership as a volunteer. Applications should include the candidate’s contact info, letters of support, a personal statement describing the candidate’s volunteer work and how it has enhanced the arts and/or cultural offerings on the sunshine Coast.

The Anne and Philip Klein Award

a6Awarded to: Eugenia Stephenson and presented by Michael Klein (son of Anne & Philip Klein)

The Klein Award was created in 2000 to honour the memory of Anne and Philip Klein and to encourage artists to continue their artistic passions later in life. After active careers the Kleins became art students in retirement, she as a spinner and weaver, and he as a sculptor. Their work garnered numerous awards, and after they settled in Roberts Creek, Anne Klein became a member of the Arts Council.

The Anne and Philip Klein Visual Arts Award carries a prize of $300. Applications should include the artist’s contact information, Biography including when the individual began their artistic endeavours, over 65 years of age, a resident of the Sunshine Coast, working in any of the visual arts including the craft and fibre arts, and preference will be given to candidates pursuing an artistic passion developed late in life.

The Gillian Lowndes Award

a7Awarded to: Timothy Niebergall and presented by brother in arts, Cody Chancellor

This Memorial Award was created in 1981 to honour the life and talent of Gillian Lowndes, a promising young Sunshine Coast dancer and past vice-president of the SC Arts Council. Gillian died of cancer in 1981. The successful nominee must demonstrate long-standing achievement, innovation and recent growth in his/her field.

The Gillian Lowndes Award is for Sunshine Coast Artists in the amount of $1500. Artists must be a Sunshine Coast resident; active in any art discipline, demonstrate long-standing achievement, innovation and recent growth in their field.

Photos by Paul Clancy